normal_post - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extreme Author Topic: Naraka and Diyu  (Read 500 times)

hubag bohol

  • *****
  • avatar_2343_1427652107 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extreme
  • Posts: 89075
  • medal1 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extrememedal2 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extrememedal3 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extrememedal4 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extrememedal5 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extrememedal6 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extrememedal7 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extrememedal8 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extrememedal9 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extreme
  • "Better to remain silent and be thought a fool...
    • Share Post
xx - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extreme
Naraka and Diyu
« on: September 05, 2013, 11:32:41 AM »

Tibetan-Buddhism-Wheel-Of-Life-06-06-1-Hell-Beings - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extreme

Naraka or Niraya is the concept of hell for some branches of Hinduism, Sikhism, Jainism, and Buddhism. While the exact descriptions of Naraka differ between religions, it is a place of punishment based on a soul’s karma. Naraka is only a temporary destination and once the sinners have paid the price for their karma, they are reborn.

It is thought to be divided into several levels depending on the sins committed during life. The number of levels in Naraka varies from four to over 1,000 based on different descriptions. For example, Maharaurava is a place for those who gain at the expense of others. In Maharaurava, the sinner has his or her flesh eaten by a serpent demon known as Ruru. The realm Kumbhipaka is home to sinners that cook birds and animals. They are punished by being boiled in hot oil for the same amount of time as there were hairs on the animals they killed.

In the Hindu and Jain culture, Naraka is thought to be ruled by Yama Loka, the God of Justice. Once a person passes away, their actions throughout life are audited by Loka’s assistant and they are either sent to Svarga (heaven) or Naraka. Unlike Hinduism or Jainism, Buddhists believe that all souls are sent to Naraka to be cleansed of their sins, and no ruler exists to audit people’s actions in life. Regardless of cultural variation, it is believed that souls can remain in Naraka for billions of years until their karma has been restored and their souls may be reborn.


original-1 - Naraka and Diyu - Weird and Extreme

Diyu is a version of hell in traditional Chinese culture, and vaguely resembles Naraka. It consists of several levels, with the exact number differing from four to 18. Each level is watched over by a judge and punishments are carried out on sinners based on their actions during life. Chinese culture believes Yama Loki of Naraka was asked to watch over Diyu, where he eventually condensed the 96,816 hells into 10 sections that sinners would pass through before reincarnation. During the Tang Dynasty, this description changed to 134 hells, with 18 levels of pain and torture.

The most common description of the levels includes the Chamber of Tongue Ripping, The Chamber of Scissors, The Chamber of Iron Cycads, the Chamber of Mirror, Chamber of Steamer, Forest of Copper Column, Mountain of Knives, the Hill of Ice, Cauldron of Boiling Oil, Chamber of Ox, Chamber of Rock, Chamber of Pounding, Pool of Blood, Town of Suicide, Chamber of Dismemberment, Mountain of Flames, Yard of Stone Mill, and Chamber of Saw. The worst level of this hell is known as Avici, which is reserved for the worst sinners. Avici is unlike the other levels of Diyu because souls that end up here remain for eternity with no more hope to be reborn. --

...than to speak out and remove all doubt." - Abraham Lincoln

Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via tumblr Share via twitter

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk
Powered by SMFPacks SEO Pro Mod | Sitemap
Mobile View
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2019, SimplePortal