pCloud Premium

16 Philippine Towns Converted Into Cities

  • 0 replies


  • To God be the glory alone
  • *****
  • 18911
  • stay at home
16 Philippine Towns Converted Into Cities
« on: February 16, 2011, 06:31:21 PM »
For the third time, the Supreme Court (SC) on Wednesday reversed its decision in August 2010 declaring 16 Cityhood Laws as "unconstitutional".

Voting 7-6, the SC en banc reinstated its December 2009 decision, declaring as "constitutional" the Cityhood Laws converting 16 municipalities into cities, respectively.

The resolution was penned by Associate Justice Lucas Bersamin.

The SC declared as "constitutional" Republic Act Nos. 9389 (Baybay City in Leyte), 9390 (Bogo City in Cebu), 9391 (Catbalogan City in Samar), 9392 (Tandag City in Surigao del Sur), 9393 (Lamitan City in Basilan), 9394 (Borongan City in Samar), 9398 (Tayabas City in Quezon), 9404 (Tabuk City in Kalinga), 9405 (Bayugan City in Agusan del Sur), 9407 (Batac City in Ilocos Norte), 9408 (Mati City in Davao Oriental), 9409 (Guihulngan City in Negros Oriental), 9434 (Cabadbaran City in Agusan del Norte), 9435 (El Salvador City in Misamis Oriental), 9436 (Carcar City in Cebu), and 9491 (Naga City in Cebu).

On Nov. 18, 2008, the SC nullified the 16 cityhood laws for being "unconstitutional".

The SC decision in November 2008 became final when it denied the petitions against the assailed decision in May 2009, saying that it would not anymore entertain any pleadings on the case.

Nevertheless, the affected 16 town mayors asked the SC to resolve their second motion for reconsideration which resulted in the reversal of the November 2008 SC decision on Dec. 21, 2009, declaring as "constitutional" the 16 cityhood laws. (PNA)

Romans 10:9
"That if you shall confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus, and shall believe in your heart that God has raised him from the dead, you shall be saved."

👇 👇 👉 See the Best Wordpress Webhost at Start your own blog or website and make money online.


pCloud Premium